In Search of my Next UMPC.. Intro

August 12, 2007

I’m at the bowling and as you can see from the above picture, it’s a bit ridiculous to get everything set up.
In this scenario, first I had to ask the bartender to see if he had a paperclip. Luckily he had one, removed the SIM card, and inserted it into my Blackjack phone.
Then I plugged in the Blackjack into the Q1 so I can get tethering going. If you’re wondering why I’m not using Bluetooth, it’s because the Blackjack’s bluetooth stack doesn’t work right with Vista. So the only way I could get Bluetooth PAN working is with USB.
So now, since I’m connected with the Blackjack, I basically lost the camera functionality since I want to stay online. So then I pulled out the iPhone, took and picture, removed the USB keyboard, and transfered the photo using the USB cable.

I’m finally on Live Writer now and ready to do some blogging.

So what’s the problem? I’m done sticking in peripherals. I’m done tethering.

So for one of my uses of UMPC’s, here the first criteria for my perfect mobile blogging machine.
+ Internal HSDPA/EVDO or a device with a PC Card/ExpressCard slot.
+ Full sized touch keyboard
+ Built-in Webcam
+ Better battery life
+ SD slot
+ More resolution. At least 1024×600 with a 7″ screen.
+ Maintain the same portability as my Q1

I will continue this series in search of my next UMPC. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “In Search of my Next UMPC.. Intro”


  1. […] rather have the convenience of a dedicated WWAN connection.  From one of my first posts, In Search of my Next UMPC.. Intro, I explain the reason tethering is not for me anymore. I’m at the bowling and as you can see from […]


  2. […] I’d rather have the convenience of a dedicated WWAN connection. From one of my first posts, In Search of my Next UMPC.. Intro, I explain the reason tethering is not for me anymore. I’m at the bowling and as you can see from […]


Leave a Reply

