Back to XP Tablet on the Q1

August 29, 2007

I reinstalled XP Tablet Edition on my Samsung Q1 a few days ago.  Since I’ve owned the Q1, I probably went to Vista and back to XP at least 3-4 times starting with RC1 and now saying bye to Vista Ultimate. 

I’m glad I’m back.  The main reason I went back for the final time (I keep saying that), is stability.  Everything just works in XP.  The final straw was when my iPhone was stuck in Recovery Mode.  The Q1 with Vista Ultimate refused to see the iPhone in recovery mode and didn’t install the drivers.  My work laptop with Vista Business tried to go through with the recovery process but iTunes crashed.  That’s when I started to panic and turned on a Mac and finally got my iPhone going again. Two possibly unrelated problems happening in Vista just pissed me off.  I had to have at least one ‘stable’ portable device, so back to XP on the Q1 since I use it the most.

Now, what have I gained back since going back to XP?

  • GeckoTIP – I can open up a floating TIP while using Firefox.  The latest release isn’t compatible with Vista.
  • Bluetooth Tethering – For some reason, Vista bluetooth can’t see my Blackjack phone as a Bluetooth PAN device.  It’s most likely the phone, but still, fact is it wouldn’t work.  The only way I could tether in Vista was through the USB cable.  Now I have both options back.
  • Performance – Programs are loading up faster.  Videos are playing smoother.  I can play a 720p high definition WMVHD file again.  No disk thrashing.  Overall snappier experience.
  • Battery Life – I’m getting slightly more battery life.
  • Screen Brightness w/ hardware buttons – With Vista, the combination of the menu button + volume rocker only worked for reducing the brightness.  With XP, I can use the same combo for both brightness up & down.
  • Robogeo – For some reason, I couldn’t get this to install with Vista.
  • Stable drivers – I feel better not using, for example, beta drivers for my webcam.

What have I lost?

  • TIP – The TIP in Vista is much improved.  It’s undocked by default and swoops on the screen.  Character recognition is excellent now and learns as you use it.
  • Start Menu – I miss the search from the new Start menu.  Very useful.  I also like how the programs are arranged.  Always sorted and in one scrollable row.
  • Security – Probably didn’t make much of a difference since I turned off most of the security features due to performance.
  • Better NHC – Notebook Hardware Control gave me more options in Vista.  Allowing me to control the CPU speed for each profile.
  • Origami Experience – Never used it.  It’s slow and felt bloated.  VLC played videos much smoother.  CarPC frontends made more sense.
  • Media Center – Ran too slow, I never used it.

 So I’ll say it again, I will never go back to Vista on my Q1.  Doesn’t mean my next device won’t have Vista, just not the Q1.

5 Responses to “Back to XP Tablet on the Q1”

  1. Brian J Says:

    I have recently made the switch back myself, but have had a bit of a problem with the HID drivers in XP. I am curious if you’re having any of the same issues. I captured my issue in a video on my blog: http://www.geekblog.org/?p=54

  2. rodfather Says:

    I have the same issue with iTunes but it only happens once in a while. Usually restarting iTunes fixes the problem. I haven’t noticed it in other applications though.

  3. J Says:

    Hi,
    I did the same myself.
    But I still can’t get the bluetooth to work with a PAN WM6 device.
    In Vista, there is something wrong with the Q1 PAN settings and that my WM6 cannot be detected. Vista + WM6 was supposed to just work…. (it did with other machines)

    Now in XP, same thing. Can’t get it to go into a PAN mode….
    Appatently, the Broadcom bluetooth hardware doesn’t support the MS stack, (which is crap I agree) but the MS stack has … PAN!

    The widcomm stack for some reason don’t have PAN (or I can’t find it)….

    Any ideas?

  4. rodfather Says:

    I’d have to check but I’m pretty sure PAN on the Q1 w/ XP is working fine. I did notice there’s a firmware update on one of the Samsung driver sites (the UK one?). I’ll post again showing which drivers I’m using.

  5. ksuper Says:

    Do you just do a fresh intall, like you would on a laptop? Or is it more complicated to wipe Vista and install XP Tablet?


Leave a Reply

